## Introduction

It is my pleasure to introduce this annual report of the Department of Geodesy and Geomatics Engineering, covering our programmes and activities during the 1995 calendar year. It has been another busy year, with a slight decrease in student enrollment more than outweighed by increased research activities. There are 12 full-time faculty members in the department, including one NSERC sponsored Industrial Research Chair. They are assisted by 10 scientific staff members (Research Associates, Reseach Assistants, Post Doctoral Fellows), and 8 technical and administrative staff members.

The year 1995 saw a record number of students graduating from our undergraduate programme: 24 students received the degree of Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.Sc.E.), and 4 students received undergraduate diplomas. The graduate degrees in 1995 included 6 doctorates conferred on students from Africa, Asia, Europe, and South America, and 9 Masters degrees conferred on students from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North America. Graduates from all major continents in the past year are just another indication of the world-wide recognition of our programmes of study.

A two-day faculty retreat was held in November at Pond's Resort, on the banks of the Miramichi (see photo below), to assess our present undergraduate curriculum in the context of a changing environment within the Canadian university system and the Canadian and international geomatics industry. As a result of these discussions, a committee was formed to design the basic structure of the geomatics curriculum of the future. The deliberations of this committee will be completed in 1996.

The department now has its own Internet World Wide Web site. We have been working diligently to provide current information on the department, its personnel, and the research work being done. We invite you to visit us at: http://www.unb.ca/GGE/



Ponds Resort, on the Miramichi River, "first annual" retreat participants: Left to right: Alfred Kleusberg, John McLaughlin, Angus Hamilton, David Wells, Adam Chrzanowski, Eugene Derenyi, James Secord, Sue Nichols, Larry Mayer, Dave Coleman, Richard Langley, John Hughes Clarke, Petr Vanicek.

Alfred Kleusberg

Chair