Minutes of CNC/IUGG Meeting held on Wednesday, 12 July 1995 during the XXI General Assembly of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics in Boulder, CO.

Room CR08, Engineering Center, University of Colorado

4:45 – 5:33 p.m., MDT

Attendees: R.B. Langley ((Chairman; IUGG and IAG Chief Delegate), P.W. Basham (IASPEI Delegate), H.G. Jones (IAHS Delegate), M.G. Sideris (IAG), C.J. Thomson (IASPEI), D.R. McDiarmid (Secretary)

1. Chairman's welcoming remarks and introductions

The chairman welcomed all the members present. He explained that all of the official delegates but one had been present at the previous meeting of the CNC. The exception was the delegate for IAPSO who, because IAPSO chose to meet in Hawaii on its own, instead of with its sister societies at the IUGG General Assembly, will present his credentials in Hawaii.

2. Approval of the agenda

The agenda was approved as presented.

3. Brief review of the first meeting (July 5, 1995)

The Chairman distributed the minutes which he had prepared of the first meeting. He reviewed the first meeting with emphasis on the business undertaken at the IUGG Council meetings held to date during this General Assembly.

4. CNC/IUGG status and renewal (II)

The Chairman presented at length the arrangements favoured by the CNC's new sponsors, the Canadian Geophysical Union (CGU) and the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (CMOS). This presentation paralleled that of the previous meeting. As a consequence, item 4 in the minutes of the previous meeting (July 5, 1995) suffice as well as a record of the discussion at this meeting except for the short description by McDiarmid of the functions he tried to perform as the Committee's secretary. These included facilitating the operation of the Committee in a number of ways in addition to minuting its meetings.

5. Association and National Correspondent (Chief Delegate) reports - after Association business meetings

IAG: Prof. Langley reported that a Canadian and former member of this committee, Prof.

Klaus-Peter Schwarz, had been elected President of the International Association of Geodesy (IAG). Petr Vanicek, also a former member of this committee, remains active as Chair of the Committee on Geodetic Aspects of the Law of the Sea and, until the end of 1995, Editor-in-Chief of Manuscripta Geodetica. Prof. Michael Sideris, a current member of this committee, was elected Secretary of section III (Determination of the Gravity Field), Prof. Richard Langley, Chair of this committee, continues as Coordinator of Educational Initiatives, and Prof. M. Wei became Chair of Special Study Group 3.164 (Airborne Gravimetry Instrumentation and Methods). IAG is considering reconstruction similar to that being contemplated by IAVCEI, namely through the introduction of individual memberships.

IAHS: Dr. Gerry Jones reported that the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS) is creating a task force to find more effective ways in which the developing countries can contribute to its science. IAHS is also seeking ways to bridge the gap between it and other organizations such as the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAP) and the International Biological Union. IAHS is currently attempting to maximize electronic communication with its scientific community.

Dr. Jones further reported that many Canadians are contributing directly to the functioning of IAHS. These include

Prof G.J. Young	Secretary-General of IAHS
Dr. H.G. Jones	Vice President of ICSI
Dr. S. Simonovic	President Elect of ICWRS
Dr. E.U. Sudicky	President Elect of ICGW
Dr. E.D. Ongley	Vice President of ICWQ
Dr. G. Moltyner	Vice President of ICT

Prof. Young is also a past member of this committee.

IAGA: Dr. McDiarmid reported that Prof. Gordon Rostoker of the University of Alberta was elected a Vice President of the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA) and that Dr. G. Atkinson of the Canadian Space Agency was elected Chairman of Division III, Magnetospheric Phenomena.

IASPEI: Prof. Thomson noted that Prof Beck (UWO) is retiring from the executive of the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI). Prof. Thomson is Chair of the IASPEI Commission on Wave Propagation and Prof. W.R. Peltier (U of T) is Chair of the Inter-union Commission on Mathematical Geophysics.

6. Union (Chief Delegate) report

Prof. Langley reported that the IUGG Council had voted to admit Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) to membership in IUGG, the admission to take effect when the UN sanctions are lifted (22 in favour, 7 against and 2 abstentions; Canada voted in favour).

The Royal Society of London had presented the only invitation to host the next IUGG General Assembly at the University of Birmingham but with the proviso that it accept only 50% of the liability for financial loss. The proviso was of some concern to the IUGG Council and the IUGG Finance Committee was asked to devise ways in which a deficit can be avoided. The final decision on the invitation is to be taken at the next meeting of Council.

As much as possible of the IUGG Chronicle is to be put on the World Wide Web.

The vote on the new members of the Bureau of the IUGG was as follows, there being 34 ballots:

P.J. Wyllie	USA	President	33/0/1 Canada in favour
U. Shamir	Israel	Vice President	30/2/2 Canada in favour
S. Gregerson	Denmark	Treasurer	33/0/1 Canada in favour
S. Uyeda	Japan	Member	25
J. Chen	China	Member	22 multiple vote
A. Monin	Russia	Member	20

where x/y/z indicates x in favour, y against and z abstentions. The Finance Committee was elected as nominated. The members are

A. Ashour	Egypt	32
V.K. Gaur	India	33
E. Groten	Germany	33
M. Hamlin	UK	33
F. Spilhaus	USA	33

7. Next (post-IUGG) meeting

It was suggested that if the next annual meeting of CMOS is to held in eastern Canada, that the CNC/IUGG should meet on that occasion.

8. Other business

None.

9. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 5:33 pm.

Minutes submitted by D.R. McDiarmid